prev  back next

2016 National AILA Awards_____

2016 National AILA Awards

Tract was the proud recipient of two awards at last night’s 2016 National AILA Awards ceremony held at the National Arboretum in Canberra.


The Penguins Plus Viewing Area by Tract & Wood Marsh Architecture received the Award for Excellence in Tourism

“Penguins Plus is a highly site-specific project on Phillip Island’s spectacular coast, in which the visitor experience is dominated by the quality of the environment and the appeal of the fauna. A contoured structure with a curved boardwalk and stepped viewing area sits sympathetically in the coastal landscape, providing a wide range of visitor viewing options, while the improved lighting system reduces the impact on the penguin habitat.

This project has clearly been informed by the comprehensive Summerland Peninsula Master Plan as well as a design guideline manual.

The work is beautifully detailed and provides a replicable prototype for the development of other components of this fragile landscape in the future. This project successfully demonstrates the way a well-structured and values-driven design process can transform organizational thinking and practice for public agencies.”
2016 AILA National Awards Jury

The impressive Garangula Gallery received an award in the ‘Gardens’ category

“The design brief for Garangula Gallery was pretty simple – incorporate a gallery for Aboriginal art into an expansive landscape. Achieving this involved balance, harmony and architectural artistry. The result is a garden that focuses the view on selected sculptural pieces, while providing others with a big-sky backdrop.

The garden portrays elegance and understated sophistication in its own right. While the sculptures undoubtedly provide the focal attention, the planting design is bold and deliberate, anchoring the gallery building to its setting.”
2016 AILA National Awards Jury

This years nominations were of a very high standard and we congratulate all recipients of 2016 National AILA Awards.

A full list of award recipients and jury comments can be viewed here.
back to news
prev item
next item